MN Scores >> Boys: FB Soc BB Hock WR Base Lax Girls: VB Soc BB Hock SB Lax

Twitter Facebook G+

ND Scores >> Boys: FB Soc BB Hock WR Base          Girls: VB Soc BB Hock SB

Twitter Facebook G+

Submit a Score | Radio | FAQ | Tiebreaker Margin | Advertising | NFL QRF | Contact | About | Message Boards

Monday, February 25, 2013
Hockey (G)
Share Share
Print this Story
Email this Story
Photo Gallery

Cameranesi named Ms. Hockey

By Let's Play Hockey
Minneapolis, Minn.

Dani Cameranesi scored 57 goals and 38 assists for 95 points in 27 games for the Blake Bears. (Photo courtesy Let's Play Hockey)

Dani Cameranesi, a senior forward on The Blake School girls’ hockey team was named the winner of the 18th annual Ms. Hockey Award by Let’s Play Hockey newspaper today at the annual Ms. Hockey Awards Banquet. The award, presented to the top girls’ high school hockey player in Minnesota, is based on the following criteria: academics, community/extracurricular activities, citizenship, coachability and, of course, on-ice performance.

Minnetonka's Rossmann named Senior Goalie of the Year
Blaine's Tim Morris wins inaugural Brano Stankovsky Award

Considered one of the top players in the nation in her age group, Dani Cameranesi led the Bears to their fourth Class A state championship with scoring totals of 57-38--95 in 27 games this season, good for second in the state.

The second Ms. Hockey winner from Blake, Cameranesi tallied at least one point in all but one game this season, and owned 23 multi-point and 19 multi-goal games on the year. She notched 12 hat tricks and nine games with five or more points. Prior to the first game of the state tournament, Cameranesi had not been held without a point since Feb. 4, 2012.

The captain of the silver medal-winning U.S. Women’s National Under-18 Team at the IIHF World U18 Championship, Cameranesi helped Blake to a 22-5-3 overall record and its first trip to the state tournament since 2009. A two-year team captain and the school’s all-time points leader, she has been named to the all-state team in four consecutive seasons.

Following high school, Cameranesi will continue her hockey career at the University of Minnesota.

“Dani is the most impactful player I have coached in my 15 years of coaching at all levels from youth to college hockey,” Blake head coach Shawn Reid said. “No player is as dominant as she has been every game this year. Every game she is surrounded by two or three opponents and yet she is able to maneuver around them with her speed, skill and strength to score goals or set up teammates.”

The owner a 3.3 GPA with a rigorous college-preparatory course load, Cameranesi has volunteered with Feed My Starving Children, Mary’s Place and Toys for Tots. She has also served as a team leader at her church’s Vacation Bible School.

“Dani is the quintessential leader on and off the ice in practices and games,” Reid said. “She is the consummate team player and is an incredible role model for our younger players. Dani is the kind of person and player that every coach wants others to emulate.”

The other finalists for Ms. Hockey were forwards Kate Flug of Roseville and Kate Schipper of Breck, and defensemen Paige Haley of Red Wing and Sidney Morin of Minnetonka.

Past winners include Hannah Brandt of Hill-Murray (2012), Karley Sylvester of Warroad (2011), Bethany Brausen of Roseville (2010) Becky Kortum of Hopkins (2009), Sarah Erickson of Bemidji (2008), Katharine Chute of Blake (2007), Allie Thunstrom of North St. Paul (2006), Gigi Marvin of Warroad (2005), Erica McKenzie of Hastings (2004), Andrea Nichols of Hibbing/Chisholm (2003), Ashley Albrecht of South St. Paul (2002), Renee Curtin of Roseville (2001), Krissy Wendell of Park Center (2000), Ronda Curtin of Roseville (1999), Laura Slominski of Burnsville (1998), Annamarie Holmes of Apple Valley (1997) and Winny Brodt of Roseville (1996).

The 18th annual award, selected based on votes from a panel of high school coaches and Division I and III college coaches from Minnesota and Wisconsin, is sponsored by Let’s Play Hockey, the Minnesota Wild and Shock Doctor.

Copyright © 1998-2021 BKZ Sports
Minnesota-Scores | NorthDakota-Scores | Report Score | Tournament Brackets