MN Scores >> Boys: FB Soc BB Hock WR Base Lax Girls: VB Soc BB Hock SB Lax

Twitter Facebook G+

ND Scores >> Boys: FB Soc BB Hock WR Base          Girls: VB Soc BB Hock SB

Twitter Facebook G+

Submit a Score | Radio | FAQ | Tiebreaker Margin | Advertising | NFL QRF | Contact | About | Message Boards

Saturday, February 16, 2013
Hockey (G)
Share Share
Print this Story
Email this Story
Red Wing

Five finalists for Ms. Hockey Award

By Let's Play Hockey
Minneapolis, Minn.

Letís Play Hockey newspaper announced today the five finalists for the 18th annual Ms. Hockey Award, presented to the top senior girlsí high school hockey player in Minnesota. The top five finalists include three forwards and two defensemen. The five honorees have scored an average of 26 goals and 31 assists this season and have helped their respective teams to top 15 rankings.

In addition to their on-ice performance, all five finalists are standouts in the classroom as they check in with a cumulative grade-point average of 3.62. All five finalists have committed to a WCHA school for next season, including four to the University of Minnesota.

The finalists for the 2013 Minnesota Ms. Hockey Award are as follows, in alphabetical order (statistics through games of Feb. 13):

Finalist                    Pos.     School                     GP      G        A        TP        College

Dani Cameranesi     F          Blake                       23       52       34       86         Minnesota

Kate Flug                F          Roseville Area          27       31       25       56         Minnesota

Paige Haley            D          Red Wing                 26       19       45       64         Minnesota

Sidney Morin           D          Minnetonka               22       4         22       26         Minnesota Duluth

Kate Schipper         F          Breck                       24       25       29       54         Minnesota

The 2013 Ms. Hockey Award winner will be named at the Ms. Hockey Awards Banquet on Sunday, Feb. 24, at 11:30 a.m., at the RiverCentre in St. Paul. The award is sponsored by Letís Play Hockey, the Minnesota Wild and Shock Doctor. Dave Schwartz of KARE 11 TV will serve as the emcee for the Ms. Hockey Awards Banquet. To order tickets to the Ms. Hockey Banquet, call Letís Play Hockey at 612-729-0023.

In addition to on-ice talent, criteria for the Letís Play Hockey Ms. Hockey Award include academics, community/extracurricular activities, citizenship and coachability.

Past winners: 2012 Hannah Brandt (Hill-Murray), 2011 Karley Sylvester (Warroad), 2010 Bethany Brausen (Roseville), 2009 Becky Kortum (Hopkins), 2008 Sarah Erickson (Bemidji), 2007 Katharine Chute (Blake), 2006 Allie Thunstrom (North St. Paul), 2005 Gigi Marvin (Warroad), 2004 Erica McKenzie (Hastings), 2003 Andrea Nichols (Hibbing/Chisholm), 2002 Ashley Albrecht (South St. Paul), 2001 Renee Curtin (Roseville), 2000 Krissy Wendell (Park Center), 1999 Ronda Curtin (Roseville), 1998 Laura Slominski (Burnsville), 1997 Annamarie Holmes (Apple Valley), 1996 Winny Brodt (Roseville).

Other awards that will be presented at the banquet include the Letís Play Hockey Senior Goalie of the Year Award, which goes to the top senior goalie in girlsí high school hockey, as well as the Minnesota Girls High School Hockey Coaches Associationís Coaches of the Year, and All-State and All-Academic Award winners for the 2012-13 season.

Copyright © 1998-2021 BKZ Sports
Minnesota-Scores | NorthDakota-Scores | Report Score | Tournament Brackets