MN Scores >> Boys: FB Soc BB Hock WR Base Lax Girls: VB Soc BB Hock SB Lax

Twitter Facebook G+

ND Scores >> Boys: FB Soc BB Hock WR Base          Girls: VB Soc BB Hock SB

Twitter Facebook G+

Submit a Score | Radio | FAQ | Tiebreaker Margin | Advertising | NFL QRF | Contact | About | Message Boards

Sunday, February 26, 2012
Hockey (G)
Share Share
Print this Story
Email this Story

Hill-Murray's Brandt named Ms. Hockey

By Minnesota Score Magazine
State of Hockey, MN

Hill-Murray's Hannah Brandt (right). Photo courtesy of the Pioneer Press

Senior forward Hannah Brandt of Hill-Murray was named the winner of the 17th annual Ms. Hockey Award by Let’s Play Hockey newspaper Sunday at the annual Ms. Hockey Awards Banquet. The award, presented to the top girls’ high school hockey player in Minnesota, is based on the following criteria: academics, community/extracurricular activities, citizenship, coachability and, of course, on-ice performance.
Considered one of the top players in the nation in her age group, Hannah Brandt led the Pioneers to the No. 1 ranking in Class AA during the season with her state-leading scoring totals of 59-31--90 in 26 games. The first-ever Ms. Hockey winner from Hill-Murray, Brandt was held without a point in only one game (Dec. 20 at South St. Paul), and posted 22 multi-point and 20 multi-goal games on the year. She notched 13 hat tricks and recorded a trio of six-point games. A member of the gold medal-winning U.S. Women’s National Under-18 Team at the IIHF World U18 Championship, Brandt helped Hill-Murray to a 25-3-0 overall record and within one win from earning its second straight trip to the state tournament.
A two-year team captain and five-time team MVP, she has been named to the all-state team in four consecutive seasons. Following high school, Brandt will continue her hockey career at the University of Minnesota. “There have been some great female hockey players to play in Minnesota but I truly believe that by the time Hannah finishes her high school, college and international playing career, she will be known as one of the best to have ever played women’s hockey,” Hill-Murray head coach Bill Schafhauser said. “When you combine her physical talents with her innate ability to anticipate plays before they even take place, you will see one of the best players in the world at her age group.”
The other finalists for Ms. Hockey were forwards Hanna Brodt of Roseville and Jonna Curtis of Elk River/Zimmerman, and defensemen Milica McMillen of Breck and Lee Stecklein of Roseville.  The 17th annual award, selected based on consultations with a panel of high school coaches, and Division I and III college coaches from Minnesota and Wisconsin, is sponsored by Let’s Play Hockey, the Minnesota Wild, Shock Doctor and DCS Image.
Previous winners
2011 Karley Sylvester, Warroad
2010 Bethany Brausen, Roseville
2009 Becky Kortum, Hopkins
2008 Sarah Erickson, Bemidji
2007 Katharine Chute, Blake
2006 Allie Thunstrom, North St. Paul
2005 Gigi Marvin, Warroad
2004 Erica McKenzie, Hastings
2003 Andrea Nichols, Hibbing/Chisholm
2002 Ashley Albrecht, South St. Paul
2001 Renee Curtin, Roseville
2000 Krissy Wendell, Park Center
1999 Ronda Curtin, Roseville
1998 Laura Slominski, Burnsville
1997 Annamarie Holmes, Apple Valley
1996 Winny Brodt, Roseville

CLICK HERE to read the full article.

Copyright © 1998-2021 BKZ Sports
Minnesota-Scores | NorthDakota-Scores | Report Score | Tournament Brackets