MN Scores >> Boys: FB Soc BB Hock WR Base Lax Girls: VB Soc BB Hock SB Lax

Twitter Facebook G+

ND Scores >> Boys: FB Soc BB Hock WR Base          Girls: VB Soc BB Hock SB

Twitter Facebook G+

Submit a Score | Radio | FAQ | Tiebreaker Margin | Advertising | NFL QRF | Contact | About | Message Boards

Tuesday, June 7, 2011
Lacrosse (B), Lacrosse (G)
Share Share
Print this Story
Email this Story

2011 Mr. and Ms. Lacrosse winners named

By St. Paul, MN
Anytown, MN

Minnetonka senior Hilary Duda fires a shot, photo by Helen Nelson, MNLaxHub.com

The Minnesota Minute Men have announced the winners of the 2011 Mr. & Ms. Lacrosse awards presented by the Minnesota Swarm in partnership with Dick’s Sporting Goods.

On the Boys side, a pair of Blake teammates took home both awards as George Ordway was named Mr. Lacrosse and Grant Dressen earned Mr. Goalie.

Together, Ordway and Dressen, who have been playing together since the third grade, led Blake to an 11-2 regular season record and a second place finish in the Section 5 playoffs. Ordway led the MSHSL with 74 points (39g, 35a), while Dressen posted an 8-1 record and a 5.36 GAA.

The first annual Ms. Lacrosse and Ms. Goalie awards went to two players in the Lake Conference.

Hilary Duda (Minnetonka) was voted Ms. Lacrosse and Brooke Jones (Edina) received Ms. Goalie. Duda helped the Skippers finish second in the Section 6 playoffs after a 10-3 regular season record. Her 74 points (46g, 28a) ranked seventh in the state. Jones posted an 8-4 record with a .630 SV% and led the Hornets (8-4) to second place in the Section 5 playoffs.

Other finalists for Mr. Lacrosse included: Ben Alberts (Woodbury), Carson Cannon (Stillwater), Chase Fisher (Minnetonka), Mitch Hugdahl (Eden Prairie), Steven Kiesel (Breck), and Christian Rekow (Benilde-St. Margaret’s).

Other finalists for Ms. Lacrosse included: Hilary Crowe (Blake), Hannah Dickman (Stillwater), Paige Jones (Edina), Abigail New (Holy Family Catholic), Sheridan Reiners (Bloomington Kennedy), Sammi Reiter (Stillwater).

In addition, Nate Johnson (Maple Grove), and Caroline Griffith (Breck) were the other finalists for Mr. & Ms. Goalie.

Past Winners
2010: Mr. Lacrosse – Baily Dodds (Benilde-St. Margarets), Mr. Goalie – Lowell Fluke (Blake)

The Mr. & Ms. Lacrosse awards are given to two outstanding senior high school lacrosse players in Minnesota and are selected by a panel of Minnesota lacrosse community members. A total of 14 boys and girls were named finalists for the 2011 Mr. & Ms. Lacrosse award.

About The Minute Men - The Minute Men were organized in 1954 when the city, business, sports and civic leaders decided that in order to attract major league baseball, and football a stadium should be built in Bloomington, Minnesota. The purpose of the Minute Men is to assist and promote professional sports in the Twin Cities Area, to sell tickets, advertise and promote special events and to honor and pay tribute to individuals or teams, who through professional achievement have brought unusual and significant publicity to themselves and the citizens of the Twin Cities. The broadened scope of the Minute Men activities includes amateur sports and charitable donations to other worthy organizations.

Copyright © 1998-2021 BKZ Sports
Minnesota-Scores | NorthDakota-Scores | Report Score | Tournament Brackets