MN Scores >> Boys: FB Soc BB Hock WR Base Lax Girls: VB Soc BB Hock SB Lax

Twitter Facebook G+

ND Scores >> Boys: FB Soc BB Hock WR Base          Girls: VB Soc BB Hock SB

Twitter Facebook G+

Submit a Score | Radio | FAQ | Tiebreaker Margin | Advertising | NFL QRF | Contact | About | Message Boards

Monday, February 14, 2011
Hockey (G)
Share Share
Print this Story
Email this Story
Coon Rapids
Eden Prairie
Mound Westonka

Ms. Hockey Finalists, 2011

By Let's Play Hockey

Letís Play Hockey newspaper announced today the 10 semifinalists for the 2011 Ms. Hockey Award, which will be presented to the top senior girlsí high school hockey player in Minnesota.

In alphabetical order, here are this yearís 10 semifinalists:
Finalist, High School (College)
Rachael Bona, Coon Rapids (Minnesota)
Hillary Crowe, Blake (Harvard)
Taylor Kuehl, Mound Westonka (Ohio State)
Allie LaCombe, Eden Prairie (Syracuse)
Meghan Lorence, Irondale (Minnesota)
Layla Marvin, Warroad (North Dakota)
Abby Ness, Roseau (St. Cloud State)
Rachel Ramsey, Minnetonka (Minnesota)
Sami Reber, Edina (Harvard)
Karley Sylvester, Warroad (Wisconsin)

Click here for Mr. Hockey Finalists

All 10 players named as semifinalists are committed to a Division I school for next season, including seven in the WCHA and two in the Ivy League. All semifinalists have been bound to the textbooks for the past several years as they check in with a cumulative grade-point average of 3.671. Six of the semifinalists hail from Class AA schools (Crowe, Kuehl, Marvin and Sylvester play for Class A teams), and all but one of the finalists are forwards (Ramsey is a defenseman).

The five finalists for the Ms. Hockey Award will be named in the Feb. 17 edition of Letís Play Hockey with the winner announced at the Ms. Hockey Awards Banquet on Sunday, Feb. 27, at 11:30 a.m., at the St. Paul RiverCentre. The 10 semifinalists for the Letís Play Hockey Senior Goalie of the Year Award were also announced today. The five finalists for the Senior Goalie of the Year Award will be named in the Feb. 10 edition of Letís Play Hockey. Both awards are sponsored by Letís Play Hockey, the Minnesota Wild and Shock Doctor and DCS Image.

In addition to on-ice talent, criteria for the Ms. Hockey Award include academics, community/extracurricular activities, citizenship and coachability.

Past winners:
2010 Bethany Brausen (Roseville)
2009 Becky Kortum (Hopkins)
2008 Sarah Erickson (Bemidji)
2007 Katharine Chute (Blake)
2006 Allie Thunstrom (North St. Paul)
2005 Gigi Marvin (Warroad)
2004 Erica McKenzie (Hastings)
2003 Andrea Nichols (Hibbing/Chisholm)
2002 Ashley Albrecht (South St. Paul)
2001 Renee Curtin (Roseville)
2000 Krissy Wendell (Park Center)
1999 Ronda Curtin (Roseville)
1998 Laura Slominski (Burnsville)
1997 Annamarie Holmes (Apple Valley)
1996 Winny Brodt (Roseville).

Other awards that will be presented at the banquet include the Letís Play Hockey Senior Goalie of the Year Award, which goes to the top senior goalie in girlsí high school hockey, as well as the Minnesota Girls High School Hockey Coaches Associationís Coaches of the Year, and All-State and All-Academic Award winners for the 2010-11 season.

Copyright © 1998-2021 BKZ Sports
Minnesota-Scores | NorthDakota-Scores | Report Score | Tournament Brackets